BC Week 12 – Internet Friends

How do I feel about making friends over the internet?

At first I was extremely skeptical when it came to doing things online. I was fairly young and I didn’t know what the internet held. There were so many aspects of the internet that scared me. However I really wanted to be like everyone else and have social media accounts, so when I was 11/12 I made my first Facebook account.

I still have access to that Facebook now, however, it is deactivated. It was the Facebook I used to keep in contact with all my family members and people from the town I live in. I haven’t used that account in at least 3 years.

I made my second account maybe two yearsΒ after making my first one. This account was so I could add all the people I’d met over the internet. It was also so my parents couldn’t monitor what I was doing (yeah, I was getting to that age). Around the same time I got a twitter account too, I was never really into using Twitter then though.

At one point in time or another I had an account on almost every social media. You name it, I’ve used it at least once (excluding the newer apps like Musical.ly). Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Snapchat, Tumblr, Vine, Polyvore, Wattpad, Hot or Not (I never had Tinder though), Β YouTube, We Heart It, Flickr, LinkedIn, Minus (MeowChat).

I made my fair share of internet friends over the years. Mainly due to similar interests. None of the friendships made ever lasted more than a few weeks, maybe months (distance is painful). There were a small few friendships which really influenced my life in a big way.

Having these friendships taught me a lot of things. Like the value of trust, communication, honesty and so many more things. It taught me that people will walk in and out of your life, you will drift apart but you will never forget them.

I learnt that the internet can be a wonderful place. I could talk to people who lived on the other side of the world in a matter of seconds. But I also learnt that it could be a very scary place. People could be whoever they wanted to be, and sometimes that meant they created a whole new person. When I was younger I didn’t understand that people could be someone completely different online.

The most important thing I learnt from having online friendships is that your best friend, that one person you’ve been looking for your entire life, can come from a computer. And it’s okay for that to happen. It’s okay to make friends online, as long as you’re doing it safely.

You can be whoever you want to online. Sometimes it’s the best thing, other times it’s the worst. The Internet is a very big place and sometimes it’s good to leave it alone for a while.

How do you feel about making friends online?

Leave a Reply

