BC Week 9 – 5 Things I Wish I Could Tell My Past Self

At first I didn’t know what I was going to do for this post because the “things” I wish to say but probably never will are things that I’d rather not share with the internet. So I’m changing this weeks post a little bit. Instead of things I wish I could say but probably never will, I’m going to say four things I wish I could tell my past self!

Obviously here’s a lot more than five but below are fiveΒ of the most important things I wish IΒ could tell myΒ past self.

1. “You can’t change people.”
It took me a while to learn this one and I wish I had told myself sooner. People are their own and they are the only people who can change themselves.

2. “Stop worrying so much about who likes andΒ doesn’t like you.”
I grew thinking that everyone had to like me. That if someone didn’t like me it was because of something I did, which isn’t always the case. Some people just don’t like you just because you’re you. Whether that be because they’re jealous of something you have, they’ve had a bad past with you, or because they’re a shitty person in general. There’s always going to be someone out there who doesn’t like you, and that person really doesn’t matter.

3. “Get off the computer.”
This one contradicts itself seeing as I now run a blog. But it still stands and it’s good to remind yourself that the internet and technology in general isn’t everything. There’s a whole world out there that you haven’t explored. So get off the computer for even 5 minutes to admire the beauty that is our world.

4. “High school doesn’t f**king matter.”
The grades don’t matter. The teachers don’t matter. The people don’t matter. YourΒ friends were your “friends” because you seen them five days a week. I’ve been out of school for 8 months and I’ve spoken to one person from my school in that time.

I haven’t used anything that I learnt in school. I know it’s only been months and I’m not an adult in the “real” world yet. But it hit me hard when I realized how little it mattered. I put so much emotional stress on myself to succeed and be my best when it really didn’t matter.

If I want to go to university when I’m 18 or however old I am, I can. And I can do all new subjects. I can do Tafe as well. None of the classes I took in high school mean anything to me. None of them will help with the career paths I’m interested in. Not coming top in high school doesn’t matter.

And most importantly, being a high school drop out doesn’t mean you’re not smart enough, or you’re not good enough, or you’ll be stuck with a shitty job for the rest of your life. It means none of that. Some of the most successful people were high school/college drop outs.

5. “You don’t have to do what everyone else is doing.”
Being different is good. Prying away from the most traveled path is one of the most interesting and adventurous things you could ever do. The path most traveled by might not work for you, and that’s okay.

Are there things you wish you could say but probably never will?

Leave a Reply

